IEC 62368 Certification

Intertek can guide you through the new IEC/UL/CSA 62368-1 hazard-based electrical safety standard for IT equipment and Audio-Visual products.

IEC 62368-1 (UL 62368-1 and CSA 62368-1) merges IEC 60065, the electrical safety standard for audio, video and similar equipment, and IEC 60950-1, the standard for electrical equipment for information processing, office machinery and telecom equipment.

"December 20, 2020 is the date
when IEC/UL/CSA 60950‐1 and
IEC/UL/CSA 60065 will be
formally withdrawn.
Manufacturers who wish to
place products on the market
will need to meet IEC/UL 62368
to ensure compliance."

In addition to bringing the scope of two previous standards under the same umbrella, IEC 62368-1 represents a significant departure from what a standard normally looks like. Instead of being based on descriptions of requirements, the standard focuses on the risks that may occur and gives manufacturers greater leeway in deciding how to design the protection.

The standard divides a product’s safety risk into three levels. Based on this, the standard then specifies what constitutes an acceptable voltage, for instance, and what type of protection is required.

During the period until the effective date for IEC/UL/CSA 62368-1 the three standards will co-exist. This means that under IEC 60065 and IEC 62368 components tested under either standard will be accepted. The same applies for IEC 60950 and IEC 62368.

Download our White Paper to Learn More

Contact us today to let Intertek guide you through this transition simply, quickly, and accurately.

Need help or have a question? +1 800 967 5352

Need help or have a question?

+1 800 967 5352
+44 1372 370900
+52 55 5998 0900
+55 11 2842 0444
+86 400 886 9926
+46 8 750 0000
+49 711 27311 152