Circular Economy - principles, frameworks and European standardisation

The Circular Economy is a phrase commonly used to describe a system in which resource use, waste and emission are reduced or minimized in the traditional linear economy, in effect “closing the loop” on responsible production and consumption.

As an alternative to a traditional linear economy (make, use, dispose) in which we keep resources in use for as long as possible, CE promotes and advocates extracting the maximum value from them whilst in use, then recover and regenerate products and materials at the end of each service life. A circular economy approach could reduce global CO2 emissions from key industry materials by 40% or 3.7 billion tonnes in 2050. Key in achieving this opportunity are business models that keep assets, products, and components in use while making productive and efficient use of resources. The concept successfully conveys the need for industrial innovation to drive future productivity and competitiveness. It inspires collaboration and interaction across industrial sectors and across public and private enterprise. It can drive change at a transformative rate and scale and is a live demonstration of exciting change. To evaluate the impacts of the circular economy, applying a life cycle approach is highly beneficial. LCA can strengthen the propositions of circular economy, and the other way around. How do we assess success, progress, or monitor improvement? What standards and frameworks are there for implementing the principles of the circular economy in organizations? Does a circularity footprint or index exist? 

September 24, 2020 | 10am EDT, 2pm GMT, 3pm BST, 4pm CEST

By completing this form, you submit your information to the webinar organizer, who will use it to communicate with you regarding this event and their other services.